Article Image Alt Text

Five police jurors are reelected; two to run in a November runoff

According to unofficial results, five incumbent police jurors for Evangeline Parish were reelected to another four-year term after Saturday’s election. Two other incumbents will now run in November runoff.
Ryan Ardoin won reelection in District 3 with 694 votes (71 percent) over challenger Clifton Fruge with 290 votes (29 percent).
In District 4, Lamar Johnson received 859 votes or 63 percent of the vote to fend off challenger Robert Johnson who received 37 percent of the vote with 504 votes.
Kevin Veillon from District 5 was reelected over his challenger Derek Marcantel. Veillon received 943 votes for 59 percent, and Marcantel received 658 votes for 41 percent.
Eric Soileau defeated two candidates to win reelection in District 6. Soileau received 879 votes or 62 percent. Donald Vidrine came in second place with 20 percent of the vote with 282 votes; Cora Chretien-Veal rounded out the race with 18 percent of the vote with 251 votes.
Also reelected was Daniel Arvie from District 9 with 61 percent of the vote and 760 votes against challenger Shawn Gallow with 39 percent of the vote and 488 votes.
The runoff elections will be in District 1 and District 7 as incumbents Rocky Rider and Bryan Vidrine failed to break the necessary plateau to win the election outright.
Rider, with 583 votes for 41 percent of the vote, will face Keith Saucier in the November election. Saucier garnered 525 votes which was good for 37 percent. Also in the race was Camille LaFleur Fontenot who came in with 304 votes which was 22 percent.
In District 7, incumbent Bryan Vidrine with his 680 votes for 46 percent of the votes will face challenger David Ortego in the November runoff. Ortego received 443 votes for 30 percent of the vote. Rounding out the candidates with 361 votes for 24 percent of the vote was Kevin “Cabon” Fontenot.

Evangeline Today

145 Court St.
Ville Platte, LA 70586
Phone: 337-363-3939
Fax: 337-363-2841